The Millies!!

Well what an exciting (and busy) couple of weeks I have had!  Everything has gone crazy but all in a good way of course.  Well where do I start……

When I got a phone call to tell me that I had been nominated for a Sun Military Award, I was so moved, I couldn’t believe that people had nominated me.  Later, when I found out it was actually other widows and mothers of the children Scotty’s helps, I was completely overwhelmed and so touched.  It meant even more to me.

When they day arrived, it was amazing.  The whole team took such great care of us and treated us like royals.  We went to 10 Downing Street during the day to meet the Prime Minister, David Cameron and then in the evening we made our way to the Imperial War Museum where we started the evening with a champagne reception.  We got to meet Prince Charles, who I might add was so lovely, he took his time and he spoke to everyone and really listened to their stories.  To me he was just like a real Grandad, very sweet and charming.  It was an honor to meet him.

I was a tad excited when I realised that David Jason was on my table!  I LOVED Only Fools and Horses and love him in A Touch of Frost too, so I was so chuffed he was sitting on my table.  It was a very surreal night, in fact the whole experience was surreal.  To be in a room that is filled with celebrities and royals was amazing, but also to be surrounded by the men and women who put their life on the line for our country made me feel so proud and honored to be a part of it all.

I so wanted to win, which sounds a bit strange, but I knew that if I won my story would be aired to millions of viewers and people would find our about Scotty’s Little Soldiers and the work we do.  I knew it would be a massive step for the charity so as I saw my video play, I was so proud and so so excited, because it meant people would now know all about Lee and the charity.  It all happened so fast and was a complete shock, everyone kept saying did you not know you’d won and I said no, all the nominees were there and no one said anything so I really had no idea.  It was mad!  To go and accept an award and then for them to bring out my kiddies, Kai and Brooke and some of the members we help was the best feeling in the world, it made the night for me.   To see them on the stage, especially as I had never met or even seen photos of them, it was just incredible.

I would like to say a massive massive thank you to everyone who has supported Scotty’s Little Soldiers and for all the lovely messages and emails I have received, it really means so much and really helps to keep pushing me forward.

The 6th of December is a night I shall never forget and a night I will treasure forever.Image

2 thoughts on “The Millies!!

  1. It was an honor and a pleasure to be there at the Millies to surprise you, You so deserve the award! and now the whole of the country has seen just how special you are to us. Paula & Tegan xxxx

  2. What a lovely piece, you deserve all praise you have been given. We all arrive in this world not knowing what our purpose is and many leave the same way but a few are destined to leave a mark and you are one of those chosen people, you have suffered dreadful heartache and loss but turned it to a positive outcome and made the children smile, God Bless you Nicky Scott-Howling

Please feel free to leave a comment